Showing posts from September, 2018

How to get my wife proactive involved in the family budget rather than reactive at the end of the month?

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/DouggieFressh on 9/28/2018 

We have a budget. We work off of it every month. I live or die by the budget. Currently, I keep it all on spreadsheets. I love excel. But for my wife, it's a killer. She hates math, hates spreadsheets, and hates budgeting. I keep a running total and always know what we have left. But that involves opening OneDrive and checking the spreadsheet. It is just currently not working.
So just wondering if anyone else has gone through something similar, where one party was super into budgeting, but the other wasn't. What finally worked? Did you switch to an app? Switch to cash? I need her to be proactive in her spending, seeing what we had left when she spends it, rather than reconciling it at the end of the week/month, when we already went over budget.

40 year old guy freaking out, my account is dwindling fast

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/astupidfish on 9/28/2018 This is embarrassing.
I'm not 100% sure why I'm posting this. To vent, voice the fears, everything I've been keeping in for the last long while. Maybe to see if other people have been in this situation and beaten it, that would help. I'm stressing, losing sleep and going grey, every month I dread checking my balances, it's not a good feeling.
I'm a 40 year old guy, with a long term GF and an 8 year old I share custody with my ex with. I'm at an age where not only should I have my shit in gear, but also be saving money and investing into my retirement.
In reality, 5 years ago I had over $50,000 (result of the split from my ex) in my checking account, I paid my bills today only to see it dip below $10K. I had a panic attack, still feeling it. Feeling like a huge failure, I want to provide the best for my family but unless something changes I'll out of money sometime next yea…

I'm 32 and broke. I finally made my first budget ever and I'm -$700 in the hole every month. What do I do?

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/vitreous_luster on 9/28/2018
So, I've never had a lot of money, but I lost my full time job this past April and I'm now working part time at a bank while also attending college during the day, 3 days per week. I make about $250 per week. My grandma gives me $400 per month to help with my rent. I know, I'm pathetic.
I've been having to borrow a lot of money from my parents, and it's been pretty shitty, so I broke down and finally added up all my expenses and income, and I make about $700 less than I need to just to break even. I check on Indeed pretty much every day to see if I can get a second job, but the job market in my area is really bad, and I'm also kind of limited by my school schedule as to which hours I can work. Dropping out is not an option - I'm a semester and a half away from my Bachelor's.
My rent is $600 and I am probably moving soon, in with my brother, which should cut that a…

Loan Payment or Investment Portfolio

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/ECO_nomics on 9/27/2018
I currently make $45,000 salary ($3,750/month) with 7.5% (3% match) going to my SIMPLE IRA. I am set for a pay increase to roughly about $55,000 to $60,000 in the next couple of months. I have $7,400 (3.96%) left on a student loan and $9,000 (2.19%) on my car loan. I currently live in my parents' apartment (close to work and travel for work often) and don't pay rent, utilities, and pay about $200 a month on food. I currently have $3,000 in savings (just spent $1,200 of my savings on much needed golf clubs as I am in sales and golf with clients) and put $500 in my savings account every month.
$3,750 - $281.25 (SIMPLE) - $500 (savings) - $200 (food) - $332.00 (car payment) - $500 (student loans) - $132 (insurance) - $300 (gas) - $79 (climbing gym) - $400 (entertainment, golf, hockey, rock climbing, etc.) $1,025.25
I have spend the last year traveling, partying with friends, extending business trips to person…

In high school but wanna learn about budgeting and saving money for my future

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/_m1me on 9/27/2018 I really wanna know if there is like a website or group that I can go to that I can learn to balance a checking account, budget, savings, etc. My mom really doesn't have time to explain all of this to me and there aren't any classes that I can take in my school to learn about this stuff until senior. I also want to start investing as soon as possible. So any information that you have would be amazing.

Massive student loan debt, completely overwhelmed and have some questions

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/throwaway-0807 on 9/26/2018

I graduated this year with a clinical doctorate in a field that requires a doctorate degree for entry level professionals. However, I am not truly paid to reflect the education and work that went into earning my degree. (For anyone interested, I have a DPT, Doctor of Physical Therapy. Our professional organization pushed for the DPT for entry level clinicians but actual real-world pay as a professional has yet to catch up to match this degree)
I was young and naive when I started school and not once was educated on loans, how much school truly is, and what I will face after my education. I honestly just assumed that with my degree and qualifications, I would be making good money and would be able to cover the cost of education with my work. I was accepted to a great private program for both undergrad and my graduate studies, and just rolled with the opportunities. However, I am now facing over $200,0…

Please help, we're in the red every month and I don't know what to do

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/Calm_Recipe on 9/25/2018

Income: $1,126/month take home pay
Mom gets $824/month from disability Nothing in savings Total: $1,950
Monthly Expenses: Rent $1,230 Phone/Internet Bundle: $120 Food: $150ish a month minus $45 from food stamps = ~$105 Car insurance: $150 Private Student loan payments: $583 (Which I've stopped paying) Gas: $80 Misc Expenses (toilet paper/soap/shampoo/etc): ~$50 Credit Card Payment (from the months where we were in the red): $220 ~$1,955 at the moment, or $2,538 if I keep paying my student loans.
So as you can see, we're right on the line every month, depending on food and random expenses. And I have to occasionally put stuff on my credit card for months where we end up in the red, like when I blew my tire out a few months ago.
I was able to get my federal loans put on Income-based repayment so my total is $0/month for now. But my private lender does not share the sympathy. Either way I stopped paying.
That being sai…

I suddenly love saving

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/manjarofmydreams on 9/25/2018
The last few years of my life have been transformational. I've learnt to (truly) love someone else, learnt to love myself and learnt the importance of planning not only for a future but also how to achieve that future.
Until I met my wife I didn't really save. A few hundred bucks here and there. I was earning good money but really had nothing to show for it except a beer belly, high blood pressure and a few decent hangovers a week.
Now, we're planning 5, 10, 15 even 20 years into the future. Something which I hadn't seriously considered doing. Even when people would ask that interview question "where do you see yourself in 5 years?" I would always just make up some bullshit. Now not only do we have a solid idea of what we want in 5 years but also much further into the future. Because of this I am loving saving money. At the beginning of each month we both put an amount we th…

Budget for Late 20s Couple on East Coast

Posted on in r/personalfinance by u/Th3ow3way on 9/24/2018

My wife and I moved to the East Coast from the Midwest for her job and after 2 months of going jobless I received 2 job offers this week so I decided to get back to making a budget again. I felt inspired by a number of budgets posted by others and also wanted critiques in terms of anything major I'm missing or if any of the numbers seem really off.

Cash: $40,000 (Our E-fund is pretty high because we received more wedding money than expected and because I was jobless for the time being).

401K: $50,000

Student Loans: $240,000

Projected Monthly Net Income (after Taxes, 401K, health insurance): $7065.00

UPDATE: I wanted to address a few comments that people brought up below. First, I understand this it not an optimal budget. I created this budget based on our current expenses and as a way to see where we can improve and to see where we can come up with student loan payments for the future because the $0 IBR will cha…